About travelling…Part III – Loyalty program

Come with me if you want benefits…

Stick to your loyalty – So a small chapter about airline loyalty programs. It’s quite simple —> Find an alliance of airlines that will suite your needs the best and sign up. I’ve been using Finnair for majority of my trips and they are part of the One World alliance.

Airlines with benefits = AIRFITS?

You can compare cheap flights from multiple different airlines, use a website that does that for you, but on the other hand sticking with a particular alliance will give you benefits that are worth it in the long run. You might save hundreds of euros when choosing cheap airlines, but especially in intercontinental flights the drawback might come from long waits at airports and multiple changes. Sometimes it feels like just one connecting flight is a challenge for your baggage to arrive, so how about 2-3 different connections between different airlines?

2015-01-30 09.40.42-1

Somewhere over Japan

Lounge

Lounge access was something I didn’t quite understand before I was granted access. It saves you money quite often when you get some basic food and beverages while waiting at the airport + the facilities offer you much more peace and quiet.

So my advice is stick to your loyalty program as it will grant you benefits in the long run.

THIS IS MY SECRET, NOW TELL ME YOURS!

So I’m a fan of loyalty programs, but I’m presuming there is another side to this story! Why should I go for the cheap prices and not using the same alliance? Leave me a comment or send me an email, I’d love to hear your version for pros and cons.

We’ll continue this series later on this week about Early birds and let’s see which side you’ll take 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “About travelling…Part III – Loyalty program

      • mukul chand says:

        welcome. Economy is not only criteria for me personally. Timings/ past history of airline/ aircraft/ number of stops/ number of flights from the final destination to home etc etc..

        Like

      • Juha Petteri Niemi says:

        Sounds pretty much the same criteria that I usually appreciate 🙂 Especially when you are coming back from a trip, there isn’t a thing I love more then a direct flight back home.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Juha Petteri Niemi says:

        That’s true that lounges are open through Debit/credit cards, so it’s not just about airline loyalty. I think there is struggle going on between airline loyalty programs and cheap airline tickets.

        I believe that loyal customer are important to any brand, so how keep up the benefits interesting enough not to lose those key customers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Juha Petteri Niemi says:

        Priority check-in is totally something that brings added value.. I’ll cover that topic a bit in my next post about being an early bird at the airport or a final minute check-in type 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

